Work Experience – Week One

Monday

Hey, I’m Lydia and am currently doing work experience at Harrogate Theatre so I can have a look at aspects of what goes on in the workings of a theatre.

My first day started with a tour of the theatre; there was all sorts of cubby holes and narrow stairways everywhere, like a big maze – I’m surprised people can find their way round. I was also surprised as to how historical the theatre is compared to other modern theatres.

I spent the afternoon looking at the technical side of the theatre which was particularly interesting, and I saw lots of set being put together and learnt a few things. I went up to the fly floor, and saw all the ropes holding various bits and bobs up and it looked very complicated and everything looked really heavy. I also had a look at how all the lighting works, which was also very technical and complicated, there was a plan of all the different sorts of lights, some with different colours, and some that could move around. I then had a look under the stage where all the power for the lights was and I’ve never seen so many cables in one place!

My first day has made me realise other aspects to performances rather than just the acting side. I was surprised at how very complicated everything looks. I’m looking forward to spending the rest of my week finding out other parts of the theatre.

Leave a Reply

